[un]conscious-stream[ing]

Psalm 144:4 Man is like a breath; his days are like a fleeting shadow.

Let me in

Inspired by my good friend over at aoratos and listening to someone reading Revelation, a harmonisation of scripture came to my heart.

Revelation 3:20
Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.

This passage is often solely used to encourage people to let Christ in to their lives, let his power and love pour in so we can be enriched and then enrich others. Having no disagreement with this interpretation, I was also struck with another layer of meaning.
Have another look at the Revelation passage in tandem with this verse from Matthew 25:31-46

Matthew 25:40
‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’

We are encouraged to act like Christ to the people because we see the face of Christ in them – looking after people as we would unhesitatingly look after Christ himself.
So together, we can conclude that when Christ says ‘I stand at the door and knock’ he not only means he, the risen Lord himself, but also the people that we encounter day by day.
Are we prepared to take that uncomfortable step to open our doors and let in the people Christ would have reached out to, the people classed as the dregs of society? If you read the next verse in revelation, you see the promised reward for those who are prepared to let Christ in – whichever form we find him in.

Revelation 3:21
To him who overcomes, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I overcame and sat down with my Father on his throne.

You should follow me now on twitter (here).

Leave a Reply

