[un]conscious-stream[ing]

Psalm 144:4 Man is like a breath; his days are like a fleeting shadow.

Comfort

I strongly believe that people should be celebrated for their skills and used to their strengths.

That said, I also think that sometimes it is important to do things that we find annoying / distasteful / downright unpleasant. i.e. Step out of our ‘comfort zone’.

I have personally found, there have been times when trudging through the knee-high treacle of ‘I don’t want to do this’, that I have eventually come to serve with true joy.

So, it is with this heart that I have volunteered (allowed myself to be press-ganged) to assist with teaching at Youth Church. Initially taking a class this Sunday, but then helping out regularly from later in the month.

I’ve never taught before, and the one or two lessons I have taken years back were not things of beauty or to be remembered. This makes my decision to do something I feel I have no gift for, nor desire to do rather daunting, mitigated only by the fantastic person I’ll be helping (who I have worked well with in the past).

Sometimes dogged, uncomfortable perseverance leads to joyful, pleasurable service. I hope that its not too uncomfortable or dogged and that the joy appears fairly quickly!

I feel that a good thing to do in those times when we feel “I’d rather be doing something entirely different”, is to use them as self-reflection, examining our motives, getting in touch with our inner desires and longings and checking whether they are Godly or selfish!

I’m sure we can find useful and uplifting experiences, in difficult, uncomfortable areas, even if that is a few years later only looking back!

Proverbs 2:6
For the LORD gives wisdom, and from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.

This is my prayer for the coming weeks: that God will grant me with the wisdom necessary to guide and direct young minds to God for his glory.

Leave a Reply

