[un]conscious-stream[ing]

Psalm 144:4 Man is like a breath; his days are like a fleeting shadow.

Humility

Generally not something I’m good at.

Being humble is an art.

I’m far too quick to speak, too quick to respond, too quick to criticise and be cynical. I’m far too self-important to not share my opinion in any given situation.

Some of my problem is that I am generally pretty good at anything I turn my hand to: I am fairly practical, I was given a good education, I am a great Osteopath (see http://review.alexgreen.co.uk/), I seem to be able to string coherent sentences together and people have been very encouraging about things I have written, I am a confident public speaker and people rarely fall asleep or walk out.

As you can see, humility is an area I need to work on drastically.

I find it easy to forget that these things I can do competently or even expertly are not because of me or anything I have done. Everything I am , everything I excel in is a gift from God. If you see any good in me, you are seeing Christ living in me.

And yet, still, I often get confused between my opinion and God’s message, and think that my interpretation is what people need to hear.

I often forget that it’s not all about me.

I’m also quite hard on myself, so when I see a flaw, I worry it and work at it and try to iron it flat, again regularly relying on my own strength and determination rather than allowing the spirit of Christ to gently mould me from within.

I am also confused by Numbers 12:3

“Now Moses was a very humble man, more humble than anyone else on the face of the earth.”

Moses wrote Numbers, (or so most scholars believe). So it seems he is not being humble about his humility!

The word used in the King James version is ‘meek’ and the original Hebrew is ‘`anav‘ and it refers to someone who is of a lowly and modest mind, someone who is pious (in the good sense of the word) and preferring to bear injuries rather than return them.

I’m still not sure how to take Moses seeming to boast about his own humility, of course, context is everything so go and read the whole chapter, but it’s definitely something I need to work on, and then not brag about!

How about you?

Leave a Reply

