[un]conscious-stream[ing]

Psalm 144:4 Man is like a breath; his days are like a fleeting shadow.

Get me out of Here

The woman at the well in Sychar (John 4) says (in v 15) “Sir, give me this water so that I won’t get thirsty and have to keep coming here to draw water.”

I was wondering, as the word for ‘here‘ in the Greek; enthade, is a much less frequently used word [8 times] than the other more commonly used words; hōde or pherō [60 and 66 times respectively], whether there is something important in the word?

Jesus has just answered the woman “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

She says “…give me this water so that I won’t get thirsty and have to keep coming here…”

Jesus says “Go, call your husband and come here (enthade).”

The same word again!!!

Is there something about the word?

I wonder if she is saying something sub-text. I wonder if she is saying “Sir, give me a way out of my situation – my needing to come to this place in the heat of the day, just to avoid all the other women.”

Jesus points out to her the problem – her 5 marriages and current non-marriage situation, but he’s already offered her a way out.

Are we guilty of doing the same?

Jesus offers us a way out of any and all of our sin situations and then we come to him and ask “…give me this water so that I won’t get thirsty and have to keep coming here…”

How often are we culpable of missing the grace that is offered?

2 Corinthians 12:9
He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

Follow me on twitter (here)

Leave a comment